Manchester City to compete in major new-look competition in United States alongside Real Madrid and Chelsea

Manchester City will be one of 32 teams to compete in the new-look FIFA Club World Cup in the United States in 2025.

Earlier this month, Manchester City defeated Inter Milan in the UEFA Champions League Final to win the prestigious European championship for the first time in the club’s history, and as a result, Pep Guardiola’s team qualified for three new tournaments.

On the way to the Istanbul final, City defeated Real Madrid and Bayern Munich, and Rodri’s goal in the 68th minute gave City its first-ever Champions League victory.

Silva of Man City

Additionally, Ederson produced a string of valiant late stops to stop Inter Milan, and City finished a record season with victories in the Premier League, FA Cup, and Champions League.

In addition, Manchester City’s victory in Istanbul guaranteed them a spot in the UEFA Super Cup and FIFA Club World Cup the following year as Pep Guardiola’s team looks to win six trophies and get ready for games in Greece and Saudi Arabia.

City will compete in both tournaments for the first time, taking on Europa League champion Sevilla in the UEFA Super Cup in Athens in August and the FIFA Club World Cup in Saudi Arabia in December.

Stanford Bridge

As a result of winning the Champions League, the Sky Blues will also participate in the redesigned FIFA Club World Cup in 2025. FIFA has confirmed that the tournament would be held in the United States.

The tournament, which would feature 32 teams, will take place in the US in 2025, one year before the FIFA World Cup, which will also be contested primarily in the US in 2026.

Gianni Infantino And Ancelloti of Real Madrid

“The FIFA Club World Cup 2025 will be the pinnacle of elite professional men’s club football,” said Gianni Infantino in a statement following the announcement. “The United States is the ideal host to launch this new, global tournament,” he added.

Along with Real Madrid and Chelsea, Manchester City is one of three European teams that have confirmed their participation in the competition.

Twelve of the 32 clubs competing in the Club World Cup will come from Europe; the remaining nine participants will be determined by the champions of the 2024 Champions League and club rankings.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.